iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad Apps Search Engine
iPhone Apps Users Community
Advanced search | Example: action games
iPhone apps

Eye of the Cricket (by James Sallis)

Eye of the Cricket (by James Sallis)
  • #: 105936
  • Price: $9.99 In Apple Store
  • Category: Books
  • Updated: 2011-01-08
  • Current Version: 1.5
  • 1.5 (iOS 4.0 Tested)
  • Size: 155.00 MB
  • Language: English
  • Seller: Blackstone Audio, Inc
  • Requirements: Compatible with iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad. Requires iOS 3.2 or later
  • Copyright©2009-2010 Blackstone Audio. Portions copyright©2009-2010 by Folium Partners.
  •  Add to Favorite apps

 

Description

EYE OF THE CRICKET by James Sallis (unabridged) is presented by Blackstone Audio and comes with what is perhaps the best audiobook app available (see FEATURES, below).

Lew Griffin is a survivor, a black man in New Orleans, a detective, a teacher, a writer. Having spent years finding others, he has lost his son—and himself—in the process. Now, a derelict has appeared in a New Orleans hospital claiming to be Lewis Griffin and displaying a copy of one of Lew's novels. It is the beginning of a quest that will take Griffin into his own past while he tries to deal in the present with a search for three missing young men. Somewhere in the underbelly of the Crescent City, there are answers and more questions; there are threats and the promise of salvation; and there is a dangerous descent into the alcoholic haze that marked Griffin’s younger days, as well as the possibility of rising from it redeemed.

Self-contained, this audiobook app is perfect for your commute, on a trip, or while relaxing. Based on a library-quality recording, this app was built especially for your iPhone and iPod Touch. No unreadable text, no endless scrolling on a tiny screen. The audio is of higher-than-normal quality, making for a great listening experience that will not tire your ears or grate on your nerves.

NOTICE: This app includes the exact same 5-star recording offered elsewhere at much higher prices. It was professionally recorded by Blackstone Audio’s Earphones® Award-winning narrator, G. Valmont Thomas. You are not buying yet another amateur or volunteer narration. No clicks, background noises, throat clearing, mispronunciations, tinny voices or monotones will be found here.

• EXPERIENCE. About 6.5 hours of narration. Created as a Folium enhancedAudio™ edition, this book includes extra functions and features not found on lesser players.

• PLAYER CONTROLS. Includes listen (play), pause, multi-speed fast forward/reverse, jump ahead/back, chapter skip, volume control, one-touch chapter- and bookmark browser. There is also a “scrub” bar that finds any point inside the chapter with just a tap.

• SLEEP TIMER. Have you ever fallen asleep watching TV or listening to a book? If so, you'll love this feature. Once set, the book will stop, place a bookmark, and allow you to jump back to where you probably began dozing.

• CLEAR & ELEGANT DESIGN. Simple, clean, intuitive, and smarter than average.

• CHAPTER TIMINGS. Always know how much time it will take to finish a chapter. Plus, the progress bar at the top of the screen shows how far into the book you’ve come.

• OFFLINE LISTENING. You are airplane-ready! Once downloaded, listen uninterrupted without threat from a lost network connection. Downloads are usually just 5-10 minutes, but depend upon your network speed.

• AUTO-BOOKMARKING. The player remembers where you stopped listening and returns to that exact spot when you open the book again.

• TELL-A-FRIEND. An easy way to recommend the book to your friends or Twitter feed.

• FEEDBACK. Share your ideas for books, functions, and features. We are very responsive to our listeners and appreciate all feedback and ideas.

RATING: Suitable for adults who enjoy hard-boiled mysteries in the vein of Raymond Chandler and Dashiell Hammett.

_

“Great scenes, great images, and great dialogue.” (Kirkus Reviews)

“Vibrant surroundings, literate prose, and skillful and diverse characterizations. Highly recommended.” (Library Journal)

“Sallis is one of the least conventional and most interesting writers working in the mystery genre….dazzling, poignant and totally satisfying.” (Publishers Weekly)

Video Reviews

No video review.

Customer reviews

Write a Review

Be the first to review this app. Write a Review

Forum

Ask a question

Be the first question this app.

Users Community

+ Connect to community


The information may be outdated (2011-04-12 11:47:51). For actual information go to iTunes

Related to «Eye of the Cricket (by James Sallis)» applications

The Mesnevi & The Acts Of The Adepts by James W. Redhouse

The Mesnevi and the Acts of the Adeptstr. by James W. RedhouseThe Mesnevi (usually known as the Mesneviyi, or Holy Mesnevi) of Mevlana (our Lord) Jelalu-d'-Din, Muhammed, er-Rumi, Book the First: Trubner's Oriental SeriesIn spite of the fact that the Persian Sufi master Rumi has achieved… more

Price: $3.99 | Category: Books
The Last Of The Mohicans by James Fenimore Coop...

The Last Of The Mohicans by James Fenimore Coop...

Audiobook: The Last Of The Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper[unabridged] Duration: 17 hoursABOUT THE BOOK:The Last of the Mohicans is an historical novel, published first in 1826. The main characters (Uncas, Chingachgook, Hawkeye) are involved in French and Indian War, when France and Great Britain… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books
The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper (eBook)

The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper (eBook)

James Fenimore Cooper (September 15, 1789 September 14, 1851) was a prolific and popular American writer of the early 19th century. He is best remembered as a novelist who wrote numerous sea-stories and the historical novels known as the Leatherstocking Tales, featuring frontiersman Natty Bumppo.… more

Price: $0.99 | Category: Books
The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper - ZyngRule ebooks

The Last of the Mohicans by James Fenimore Cooper - ZyngRule ebooks

"Mine ear is open, and my heart prepared: The worst is worldly loss thou canst unfold: Say, is my kingdom lost?" SHAKESPEARE.It was a feature peculiar to the colonial wars of North America, that the toils and dangers of the wilderness were to be encountered before the adverse hosts could… more

Price: $0.99 | Category: Books
The Last of the Mohicans, by James Fenimore Cooper

The Last of the Mohicans, by James Fenimore Cooper

The Last of the Mohicansby James Fenimore CooperThe Last of the Mohicans is a historical novel by James Fenimore Cooper, first published in January 1826.It was one of the most popular English-language novels of its time. Its narrative flaws were criticized from the start, and its length and… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books
The Altar of the Dead, by Henry James

The Altar of the Dead, by Henry James

The Altar of the Deadby Henry JamesAbout James: Henry James, son of theologian Henry James Sr. and brother of the philosopher and psychologist William James and diarist Alice James, was an American-born author and literary critic of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. He spent much of his life… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books

The Lesson of the Master, by Henry James

The Lesson of the Masterby Henry JamesAbout James: Henry James, son of theologian Henry James Sr. and brother of the philosopher and psychologist William James and diarist Alice James, was an American-born author and literary critic of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. He spent much of his… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books
The Turn of the Screw by Henry James - iRead Series

The Turn of the Screw by Henry James - iRead Series

A neurotic governess, believing that the two children in her care are being haunted by malevolent ghosts, seeks to exorcize them. One of the great intellectual ghost stories of all time.Enjoy another ebook in the "iRead Series". iRead features text zooming, auto-bookmarks and landscape… more

Price: $0.99 | Category: Books
The Death of the Lion, by Henry James

The Death of the Lion, by Henry James

The Death of the Lionby Henry JamesAbout James: Henry James, son of theologian Henry James Sr. and brother of the philosopher and psychologist William James and diarist Alice James, was an American-born author and literary critic of the late 19th and early 20th centuries. He spent much of his life… more

Price: $1.99 | Category: Books
The Turn of the Screw by Henry James - ZyngRule ebooks

The Turn of the Screw by Henry James - ZyngRule ebooks

The Turn of the Screw is a novella written by Henry James. It is a ghost story that was originally published in 1898. A nameless governess reports the events of two ghosts who stalk the young children she has charge over. Is she reliable, or an imaginative neurotic?… more

Price: $0.99 | Category: Books

View all related to: Eye of the Cricket (by James Sallis) applications



Mobile Version
iApps4you.com - is iPhone, iPod touch, and iPad apps search engine and not been authorized, sponsored or approved by Apple Inc.
Copyright © 2017 iApps4you.com.
116 ms.